Residency determines tuition rate
Under Texas state law, students are classified either as residents of Texas, non-residents, or international students. The amount of tuition you are charged is based on your residency classification, which is determined according to the information you submit on the application and residency form. You also may be asked to provide documentary evidence that proves your residency status.
Who is a Texas resident
To qualify as a Texas resident, you must live in Texas for one year and establish a domicile in Texas before enrollment and you must be either a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. If you are claimed as a dependent on a parent's most recent federal tax return, you will be classified based on the parent's qualifications for residency.
The general residency classifications for tuition purposes are as follows:
- In-district student: A Texas resident who has lived in Texas for the past 12 months and resides in the ACC District.
- Out-of-district student: A Texas resident for the past 12 months who does not reside in the ACC District.
- Out-of-state student: A U.S. citizen who has not lived in Texas for the past 12 months.
- International student: A non-U.S. citizen who is not a resident alien.
Your residency classification is based on rules and regulations established by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. If you have questions about residency, contact the Admissions and Records Office.
If you are returning to ACC after an absence of one year, you must resubmit the residency form.
If your current address is not in the ACC District, you must provide proof of physically residing in the district. This is required before tuition status can be adjusted. Residency documentation must be submitted to the Admissions and Records Office. Any residency status revisions submitted after the published deadline becomes effective the following term.
Texas law (Senate Bill 1528) allows you to qualify for Texas residency status, and if you are an undocumented student who lived in Texas for the 36 months before completing your high school diploma or GED. To be eligible, you must:
- Graduate from a Texas high school or receive your GED in Texas.
- Live in Texas for at least three consecutive years before graduating from high school.
- Live in Texas 12 months before enrolling in a college or university.
- Declare your intention to file for permanent residency when you become eligible.