Effective immediatly
Enrollment Standards and Training Credit for the Texas Basic Peace Officer Sequence Program, rule 215.15, prior to registering for CJLE 2522, Texas Peace Officer Skills,
students mMUST have their TCIC-NCIC background check on file before being cleared to register for this class.
when calling 223-5193 to be unblocked for registration.
Please leave your name, student id number or ssn,and a telephone number,
(which will only be used if there are any problems).

You may use this link to print a copy of the form.
TCIC/NCIC Records Check Form

You will need Adobe© Reader to view this file.
If you do not have Adobe© Reader you may download it here: Adobe© Reader


 

Enrollment Standards and Training Credit and

Minimum Standards for Initial Licensure for the

 Austin Community College

Texas Basic Peace Officer Sequence Program

 

 

These are rules set forth by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officers Standards and Education (TCLEOSE) that must be complied with before enrolling in any ACC Basic Peace Officer Sequence Certificate courses (CJLE 2420, 2421, and 2522).  Effective immediately we will no longer unblock any students to register for these sequence classes without having all proper documentation on file. It is the responsibility of the student to read and understand the rules set forth by the commission before enrolling in any ACC Basic Peace Officer Sequence Certificate courses (CJLE 2420, 2421, and 2522). You may view the complete rules on the TCLEOSE website: http://www.tcleose.state.tx.us/Commission_Rules/Comm%20Rules.htm

215.15 Enrollment Standards and Training Credit.
(a)     In order for an individual to enroll in any basic licensing course

which provides instruction in defensive tactics, arrest procedures,

firearms, or use of a motor vehicle for law enforcement purposes,

the academy must have on file:

1.    written documentation that the person is currently licensed by the commission; or

2.    if the person is not licensed by the commission , documentation that the individual has been subjected to a search of local, state and national records to disclose any criminal record;

 

217.1. Minimum Standards for Initial Licensure.

(a)     The commission shall issue a peace officer, jailer, temporary jailer, or public security officer license to an applicant who meets the following standards:

1.    minimum educational requirements:

(A)          has passed a general educational development (GED) test

indicating high school graduation level;

(B)          is a high school graduate; or

(C)          has 12 semester hours credit from an accredited college

or university.

2.          or peace officers and armed public security officers, is 21 years

of age, or 18 years of age if the applicant has received an

associate’s degree or 60 semester hours of credit from an

accredited college or university or has received an honorable

discharge from the armed forces of the United States after at

least two years of active service; for jailers is 18 years of age;

3.      is fingerprinted and is subjected to a search of local, state, and

U.S. national records and fingerprint files to disclose any

criminal record;

4.          community supervision history:

                        (A)          has not ever have been on court-ordered community

supervision or probation for any criminal offense above

the grade of a Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within the last ten years from the date of the court order; but

(B)          the commission may approve the application of a person who received probation or court-ordered community supervision for a Class B misdemeanor at least five (5) years prior to application if an agency administrator sufficiently demonstrates in writing with supporting documentation that mitigating circumstances exist with the case and with the individual applying for licensure, and that the public interest would be served by reducing the waiting period;

5.      is not currently under indictment for any criminal offense;

6.          conviction history:

(A)          has never been convicted of an offense above the grade of

a Class B misdemeanor or a Class B misdemeanor within

the last ten years; but
(B)          the commission may approve the application of a person

who was convicted for a Class B misdemeanor at least

five (5) years prior to application if an agency administrator sufficiently demonstrates in writing with

supporting documentation that mitigating circumstances

exist with the case and with the individual applying for

licensure, and that the public interest would be served by

reducing the waiting period;

(7)          has never been convicted of any family violence offense;

(8)     is not prohibited by state or federal law from operating a motor vehicle;

(9)     is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing firearms or ammunition;

(10)          has been subjected to a background investigation and has been interviewed prior to appointment by representatives of the appointing authority;

 (13)          has not been discharged from any military service under less than honorable conditions including, specifically;

          (A)          under other than honorable conditions;

          (B)          bad conduct;

          (C)           dishonorable;

          (D)          any other characterization of service indicating bad

character;

(14)          has not had a commission license denied by final order or revoked;

(15)  is not currently on suspension, or does not have a voluntary surrender of license currently in effect;

(16)          meets the minimum training standards and passes the commission licensing examination for each license sought;

(17)          has not violated any commission rule or provision of Occupants Code, Chapter 1701; and

(18) is a U.S. citizen.

(b)     A person who fails to comply with the standards set forth in this section shall not accept the issuance of a license and shall not accept any appointment.  If an application for licensure is found to be false or untrue, it is subject to cancellation or recall.

(c )    For the purpose of this section, the commission will construe any court-ordered community supervision, probation or conviction for a criminal offense to be its closest equivalent under the Texas Penal Code classification of offenses if the offense arose from:

(1)          another penal provision of Texas law; or

(2)     a penal provision of any other state, federal, military or foreign jurisdiction.

(d)     A classification of an offense as a felony at the time of conviction will never be changed because Texas law has changed or because the

offense would not be a felony under current Texas laws.

 

 

This is a condensed version of the TCLEOSE rules, you may view the complete rules on the TCLEOSE website: http://www.tcleose.state.tx.us/Commission_Rules/Comm%20Rules.htm


Home Page | Purpose & Mission | EVC Campus | CRJ/Resources |

CRIJ / Syllabi | Meeting Minutes | Class Schedule