Back to Top
Back to Top

Faculty Development & Evaluation Committee

Functions: (Tentative – will be edited and adjusted by committee)

1. Reviews, develops and recommends college-wide administrative rules and procedures for faculty development and faculty evaluation.
2. Develops and recommends guidelines of good practices for the design and delivery of faculty development activities and the appropriate and effective forms, instruments, and processes for faculty evaluation.
3. Researches the current literature for appropriate faculty evaluation procedures as well as faculty development activities and events.
4. Recommends professional faculty activities and needed resources based on input from faculty and staff.
5. Recommends procedures for linking faculty development activities with needs identified in the faculty and staff evaluation process.
6. Seeks input from all areas of the College regarding the effectiveness of faculty development procedures and activities, including evaluation of faculty development activities and disseminating the results.
7. Assists in planning and promoting Faculty Development Days each year.
8. Develops and recommends a comprehensive faculty evaluation system for ACC that complies with SACS requirements and ACC's Board Policies and Administrative Rules.
9. Reviews the evaluation responsibility of all faculty employees.
10. Reviews the evaluation system timelines and methods for ensuring that the process stays on track.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

FY17 Meetings: Third Fridays (every other month); 1:30-3:00pm in HBC 201.0:  September 16, November 18, February 17,  and  April 21.

Meeting agendas and minutes: Will be posted here.

If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Courtney Grams, 512-223-7522.

Chair: Missi Patterson, Professor of Psychology and Assistant Dean, Faculty Development, 512-223-7043.


PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail ID
Director, Instructional Development Services Susan Thomason Position HBC 3-7796 sthomaso
Supervisor, Faculty Evaluation Raja Faris Position HBC 3-7745 rfaris
Manager, Faculty Development Christina Michura Position HBC 3-7564 cmichura
Representatives of Job Fuctions or College Offices (2 year terms)
Articulation/Transfer Mary Jane McReynolds VP, Instruction HBC 3-7677 mmcreyno
Academic Dean Lyman Grant VP, Instruction EVC 3-5015 lgrant
Workforce Dean Linda Smarzik VP, Instruction SAC 3-9214 lsmarzik
Department Chair Shannon Bailey VP, Instruction HLC 3-7452 sbailey
Department Chair Sandra McCrary-Marschall VP, Instruction EVC 3-5768 marshall
Representatives of ACC Constituencies (1 year term)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Lisa McCartney Association Pres. EVC 3-5949 lmccartn
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sally Samford Association Pres. RRC 3-0343 sallys
Full-Time Faculty Senate Leatrice (Marlene) Meador Association Pres. EVC 3-5769 mmeador
Full-Time Faculty Senate Pamela (Pam) Spooner Association Pres. PIN 3-8114 pspooner
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sarah Porter Association Pres. NRG 3-4868 sporter2
Adjunct Faculty Association Robert Fyrst Association Pres. N/A N/A rfyrst
Adjunct Faculty Association Nancy Bellows Association Pres. RVS 3-6299 nbellow2
Adjunct Faculty Association Ping Chu Association Pres. N/A N/A pchu
Association of Professional Technical Employees José Resendez Association Pres. N/A N/A jose.resendez
Classified Employee Association Sue Bloodsworth Association Pres. RGC 3-3233 sbloodsw
Student Government Association Toby McKaskle Association Pres. N/A N/A email
Back to Top
Back to Top

Back to Top