Assessment & Advising Committee

Functions:

  1. Develops and makes recommendations regarding college-wide assessment, advising and placement policies and procedures. Academic policy recommendations will be submitted through the appropriate Council.
  2. Seeks input from all areas of the College regarding effectiveness of assessment, advising and placement procedures.
  3. Provides for the improvement of assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  4. Coordinates assessment, advising and placement functions with task forces and college-wide committees.
  5. Maintains liaison with the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) through the Director of Admissions and Records to ensure compliance with TSI requirements.
  6. Initiates research in cooperation with the Institutional Effectiveness Office and evaluates assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  7. Encourages use of technology in assessment, advising and placement.

Recommendations: Forwarded to Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY19: Meetings are held on the 4th Friday each month. Highland Campus, Room 2216 from 9:00 am–11:00 am (unless indicated otherwise) on the following days: September 21 (8:30-10:00 a.m.), October 26, November 30, February 22, March 29, (8:30-10:00 a.m.), April 26, June 28, and July 26.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)
Other questions about the Assessment and Advising Committee please contact Patricia Janysek.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Services): Dorado Kinney, Dean of Student Services, HLC, 223-7391.

Faculty Co-chair (elected by the Committee members): TBA

Membership
PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail
Executive Dean of Student Services, Central Dorado Kinney Position HLC 3-7398 dkinney@austincc.edu
Executive Dean of Student Services, South Robert 'Wade' Bradfute Position PIN 3-6081 rbradfut@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Kluck Position HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
TSI Coordinator Annisha Morgan Position HBC 3-7770 amorgan@austincc.edu
Director of Career & Academic Advising Kathy James Position HLC 3-7327 kjames@austincc.edu
Director of Testing Holly Delacroix-DeRouen Position HYS 3-1541 hdelacro@austincc.edu
Executive Director of Adult Education Katherine Dowdy Position HBC 3-7044 kdowdy@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(2-year terms)
Assessment Center Coordinator Zuleyka Izquierdo VP, Student Services HYS 3-3165 zuleyka.izquierdo@austincc.edu
Counselor TBA VP, Student Services TBA TBA TBA
Advising Supervisor Patsy Phillips VP, Student Services CYP 3-2104 pphillip@austincc.edu
Advising Specialist TBA VP, Student Services TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental Reading Jeanne Chaltain Dept. Chair
Integrated Reading and Writing
CYP 3-2162 chaltain@austincc.edu
Faculty, English TBA Dept. Chair
English/Journalism
TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics John Frederic Dept. Chair
Mathematics
CYP 3-2094 jfrederi@austincc.edu
Faculty, English as a Second Language Shannon Bailey ESOL Dept. Chair HLC 3-7452 sbailey@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Instructional Dean TBA VP, Instruction TBA TBA TBA
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-time Faculty Senate Association Suzanne Summers Association Pres. HLC TBA suzanne.summers@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Association of Professional & Technical Employees TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Classified Employees Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Student Government Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA