Distance Education Committee

Functions:

  1. Reviews policies and guidelines, and recommends changes to support quality distance education programs.
  2. Established standards of good practice for distance education course development and delivery based on SACS and THECB guidelines.
  3. Assists in the analysis of evaluation for distance education student support services, and recommends changes to improve activities and outcomes.
  4. Advises staff on faculty development and resources needed to design, develop and implement quality distance education courses.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY19:  1:00–2:30pm, HLC Room 2218 on the following dates: September 7, 2018, November 2, 2018, and HLC Room 2219 on January 25, 2019 and April 5, 2019.

Agendas & Minutes 
If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Pam Montalbano, 223-0422, pamela.montalbano@austincc.edu

Co-Chair:  April Whalen, Student Retention and Intervention Manager, 223-4868, april.whalen@austincc.edu
Co-Chair:  Leila Liberman, 223-5711, leila.liberman@austincc.edu

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Associate Vice President of Distance Education Erasmus Addae Position RRC 3-0423 erasmus.addae@austincc.edu
Interim Director, Virtual College of Texas Clark Peterson Position RRC 3-0408 cpeterso@austincc.edu
Interim Director, Instructional Development Services TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
LMS Analyst, Distance Learning LaTasha Hussey Position RRC 3-0421 latasha.hussey@austincc.edu
Specialist, Distance Education Design Amy Setter Position RRC 3-0418 amy.setter@austincc.edu
Library Services, Distance Education Liaison TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
Counselor, Distance Education Carol Townsend Position RVS 3-6081 townsend@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Workforce CE Coordinator Nancy Laudenslager Director, Workforce Development Center HBC 3-7693 nlaudens@austincc.edu
Instructional Design Specialist Marion Moore Instructional Development Services CYP 3-2177 marian.moore@austincc.edu
Student Retention and Intervention Manager April Whalen AVP, Student Success & Analytics RRC 3-0075 april.whalen@austincc.edu
Coordinator, Business Testing Services TBA VP, Student Services TBA TBA TBA
Instructional Dean Sam Echevarria-Cruz VP, Instruction RGC 3-3770 sechevar@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Heather Syrett Association Pres. RVS 3-6284 hsyrett@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Kerri Pope Association Pres. TBA TBA kpope@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Leila Liberman Association Pres. EVC 3-5711 leila.liberman@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Stacy Hundley Association Pres. EVC 3-5181 stacy.hundley@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Wayne Butler Association Pres. TBA 3-0278 wbutler@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Suzanne Stambauch Association Pres. NRG 3-4035 suzanne.stambaugh@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Wendy Lym Association Pres. EVC 3-5952 wlym@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Nick Sarantakes Association Pres. HLC 3-7455 sarantak@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sarah Strong Association Pres. RVS 3-6260 sstrong@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Al Purcell Association Pres. RGC 3-3398 apurcell@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Vanessa Nichols Association Pres. EVC 3-5788 vanessa.nichols@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Donna Moore Association Pres. EVC 3-5797 dmoore3@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Zoe VanSandt Association Pres. SAC 3-9213 vansandt@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Shih-Ting Lee Association Pres. RRC 3-0113 slee12@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Herb Coleman Association Pres. RRC 3-1790
ext. 22162
hcoleman@austincc.edu
Professional-Technical Association Rachel Barrera Association Pres. PIN 3-8082 rachel.barrera@austincc.edu
Classified Employees Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA