Back to Top
Back to Top

Distance Learning Committee


  1. Reviews policies and guidelines, and recommends changes to support quality distance learning programs.
  2. Established standards of good practice for distance learning course development and delivery based on SACS and THECB guidelines.
  3. Assists in the analysis of evaluation for distance learning student support services, and recommends changes to improve activities and outcomes.
  4. Advises staff on faculty development and resources needed to design, develop and implement quality distance learning courses.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY16: Meetings will be held 2:00-3:30pm, Highland Campus, Room TBD on the following dates:  October 2nd, November 6th, February 5th and April 1st.

Agendas & Minutes 
If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Vic Smith , 223-7667.

Chair (appointed by the President):
Position Vacant/TBA, AVP Instructional Resources & Technology, 223-7792

Co-Chair: Interim Director of Distance Learning: Dr. Susan Thomason, 223-7796.


PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail ID
Interim Director, Distance Learning Susan Thomason Position HBC 3-7796 sthomaso
Director, Virtual College of Texas Gary Abernethy Position PIN 3-8030 gary.abernethy
Director, Instructional Development Services Susan Thomason Position HBC 3-7796 sthomaso
Support Services Coordinator, Distance Learning Clark Peterson Position PIN 3-8070 cpeterso
Specialist, Distance Learning Design Amy Setter Position PIN 3-8226 amy.setter
Library Services, Distance Learning Liaison Ashley Carr Position NRG 3-4869 acarr
Counselor, Distance Learning Carol Townsend Position PIN 3-8187 townsend
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Workforce CE Coordinator Nancy Laudenslager Director, Workforce Development Center HBC 3-7693 nlaudens
Instructional Design Specialist Michelle Escudier Director, Instructional Development Services RVS 3-6308 michelle.escudier
Senior Computer Lab Support Technician Helen Dailey Director, Student Learning Services HYS 262-6578 hdailey
Dean, Student Services Voncille Wright VP, Student Services RGC 3-3217 vwright
Instructional Dean To be assigned VP, Instruction TBA TBA TBA
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carleen Sanchez Association Pres. CYP 3-2099 csanche1
Full-Time Faculty Senate Donna Moore Association Pres. EVC 3-5797 dmoore3
Full-Time Faculty Senate Azzurria Crispino Association Pres. NRG 3-4039 acrispin
Full-Time Faculty Senate Yolanda Hall Association Pres. EVC 3-5744 yhall
Full-Time Faculty Senate Alyson Arguijo Association Pres. RRC 3-0278 aarguijo
Full-Time Faculty Senate Blanca Alvarado Association Pres. RGC 3-3071 balvarad
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Hirsh Association Pres. RVS 3-6023 hirsh
Full-Time Faculty Senate Donna Pauler Association Pres. NRG 3-4300 pauler
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carole Pierce Association Pres. NRG 3-4764 capierce
Full-Time Faculty Senate Al Purcell Association Pres. RGC 3-3398 apurcell
Full-Time Faculty Senate TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Townsend Association Pres. PIN 3-8187 townsend
Full-Time Faculty Senate Zoe VanSandt Association Pres. SAC 3-9213 vansandt
Adjunct Faculty Association Don Morris
Association Pres. EVC 3-1790
Adjunct Faculty Association Marla Dean Association Pres. RRC 3-1790
Professional-Technical Association Dr. Joann Kroll Association Pres. HBC 3-7893 joann.kroll
Classified Employees Association Neelam Noorani Association Pres. HBC 3-7786 nnoorani
Back to Top
Back to Top

Back to Top