Back to Top
Back to Top

Distance Learning Committee


  1. Reviews policies and guidelines, and recommends changes to support quality distance learning programs.
  2. Established standards of good practice for distance learning course development and delivery based on SACS and THECB guidelines.
  3. Assists in the analysis of evaluation for distance learning student support services, and recommends changes to improve activities and outcomes.
  4. Advises staff on faculty development and resources needed to design, develop and implement quality distance learning courses.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY18:  1:00–2:30pm, HLC Room 2218 on the following dates: September 8, 2017, November 3, 2017, February 2, 2018 and April 6, 2018.

Agendas & Minutes 
If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Pam Montalbano, 223-8027.

Co-Chair: Dr. Erasmus Addae, Dean of Distance Learning), 512-223-8032.

Co-Chair: Carol Townsend, Counselor, Distance Learning, 512-223-8187.


PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail
Dean of Distance Learning Erasmus Addae Position PIN 3-8032
Interim Director, Virtual College of Texas Clark Peterson Position PIN 3-8070
Interim Director, Instructional Development Services Teresa Moore Position HBC 3-7750
Support Services Coordinator, Distance Learning Clark Peterson Position PIN 3-8070
Specialist, Distance Learning Design Amy Setter Position PIN 3-8226
Library Services, Distance Learning Liaison Terry Barksdale Position CYP 3-2135
Counselor, Distance Learning Carol Townsend Position PIN 3-8187
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Workforce CE Coordinator TBA Director, Workforce Development Center TBA TBA TBA
Instructional Design Specialist Rachel Barrera Director, Instructional Development Services PIN 3-8084
Student Retention and Intervention Manager April Whalen AVP, Student Success & Analytics RRC 3-0075
Coordinator, Business Testing Services TBA VP, Student Services TBA TBA TBA
Instructional Dean Sam Echevarria-Cruz VP, Instruction RGC 3-3770
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate June Geppert Association Pres. CYP 3-2167
Full-Time Faculty Senate Donna Moore Association Pres. EVC 3-5797
Full-Time Faculty Senate Azzurria Crispino Association Pres. NRG 3-4039
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sean Nighbert Association Pres. HYS 265-6548
Full-Time Faculty Senate Wayne Butler Association Pres. TBA 3-0278
Full-Time Faculty Senate James Stephens Association Pres. RGC 3-3227
Full-Time Faculty Senate Eduardo Garcia Association Pres. RRC 3-0064
Full-Time Faculty Senate Nick Sarantakes Association Pres. HLC 3-7455
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sarah Strong Association Pres. RVS 3-6260
Full-Time Faculty Senate Al Purcell Association Pres. RGC 3-3398
Full-Time Faculty Senate Judy Sanders Association Pres. RGC 3-3249
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Townsend Association Pres. PIN 3-8187
Full-Time Faculty Senate Zoe VanSandt Association Pres. SAC 3-9213
Adjunct Faculty Association Shih-Ting Lee Association Pres. RRC 3-0113
Adjunct Faculty Association Herb Coleman Association Pres. NRG 223-1790
Professional-Technical Association Clark Shaffer Association Pres. HBC 3-7005
Classified Employees Association Tyshun Robinson Association Pres. EVC 3-5015
Back to Top

Back to Top