Back to Top
Back to Top

Distance Learning Committee


  1. Reviews policies and guidelines, and recommends changes to support quality distance learning programs.
  2. Established standards of good practice for distance learning course development and delivery based on SACS and THECB guidelines.
  3. Assists in the analysis of evaluation for distance learning student support services, and recommends changes to improve activities and outcomes.
  4. Advises staff on faculty development and resources needed to design, develop and implement quality distance learning courses.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY17:  October 7, 2016, November 4, 2016, February 3, 2017 and April 7, 2017; 2:00–3:30 pm, HLC 2216

Agendas & Minutes 
If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Vic Smith , 223-7667.

Co-Chair: Dr. Susan M. Thomason, ED Strategic Initiatives and Faculty Innovation (Interim Director of Distance Learning), 512-223-7796.

Co-Chair: Dr. Al Purcell, Department Chair, History, 512-223-3398.


PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail ID
ED Strategic Initiatives and Faculty Innovation (Interim Director of Distance Learning) Susan Thomason Position HBC 3-7796 sthomaso
Interim Director, Virtual College of Texas Clark Peterson Position PIN 3-8070 cpeterso
Director, Instructional Development Services Susan Thomason Position HBC 3-7796 sthomaso
Support Services Coordinator, Distance Learning Clark Peterson Position PIN 3-8070 cpeterso
Specialist, Distance Learning Design Amy Setter Position PIN 3-8226 amy.setter
Library Services, Distance Learning Liaison Terry Barksdale Position CYP 3-2135 tbarsdal
Counselor, Distance Learning Carol Townsend Position PIN 3-8187 townsend
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Workforce CE Coordinator Nancy Laudenslager Director, Workforce Development Center HBC 3-7693 nlaudens
Instructional Design Specialist Rachel Barrera Director, Instructional Development Services PIN 3-8084 rachel.barrera
Student Retention and Intervention Manager April Whalen AVP, Student Success & Analytics RRC 3-0075 april.whalen
Coordinator, Business Testing Services Lorea Johnson VP, Student Services HLC 3-7399 ljohnso3
Instructional Dean Linda Smarzik VP, Instruction SAC 3-9214 lsmarzik
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carleen Sanchez Association Pres. CYP 3-2099 csanche1
Full-Time Faculty Senate Donna Moore Association Pres. EVC 3-5797 dmoore3
Full-Time Faculty Senate Azzurria Crispino Association Pres. NRG 3-4039 acrispin
Full-Time Faculty Senate Yolanda Hall Association Pres. EVC 3-5744 yhall
Full-Time Faculty Senate Alyson Arguijo Association Pres. RRC 3-0278 aarguijo
Full-Time Faculty Senate Marc Bonasso Association Pres. NRG 3-4301 marc.bonasso
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Hirsh Association Pres. RVS 3-6023 hirsh
Full-Time Faculty Senate TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carole Pierce Association Pres. NRG 3-4764 capierce
Full-Time Faculty Senate Al Purcell Association Pres. RGC 3-3398 apurcell
Full-Time Faculty Senate Judy Sanders Association Pres. RGC 3-3249 jsanders
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Townsend Association Pres. PIN 3-8187 townsend
Full-Time Faculty Senate Zoe VanSandt Association Pres. SAC 3-9213 vansandt
Adjunct Faculty Association Meredith Denton-Hedrick
Association Pres. CYP 3-1790
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA
Professional-Technical Association Michelle Escudier Association Pres. RVS 3-6308 michelle.escudier
Classified Employees Association Neelam Noorani Association Pres. HBC 3-7786 nnoorani
Back to Top
Back to Top

Back to Top