Assessment & Advising Committee

Functions:

  1. Develops and makes recommendations regarding college-wide assessment, advising and placement policies and procedures. Academic policy recommendations will be submitted through the appropriate Council.
  2. Seeks input from all areas of the College regarding effectiveness of assessment, advising and placement procedures.
  3. Provides for the improvement of assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  4. Coordinates assessment, advising and placement functions with task forces and college-wide committees.
  5. Maintains liaison with the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) through the Director of Admissions and Records to ensure compliance with TSI requirements.
  6. Initiates research in cooperation with the Institutional Effectiveness Office and evaluates assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  7. Encourages use of technology in assessment, advising and placement.

Recommendations: Forwarded to Student Services Council.

Meetings FY15: Meetings held on Friday, in HBC 301.7, 9:00-11:00 a.m. on the following dates: September 26, October 24, November 21, February 27, March 27, April 24, June 26, and July 24.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)
Other questions about the Assessment and Advising Committee please contact Patty Zuniga.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Services): Yolanda Chapa, Dean of Student Services, SAC, 223-9155.

Faculty Co-chair (elected by the Committee members): Anne Marie Schlender, ESOL Faculty.

Membership

NOTICE: Based on recommendation of the Shared Governance Review Council, employee organization changes to committees and councils will occur in September. Changes in appointments will be posted at the end of September (unless otherwise noted).

PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail ID
Ex Officio Members 
(serve by virtue of the position held)
Dean of Student Services Yolanda Chapa Ex Officio SAC 3-9155 ymc
Dean of Student Services Virginia Fraire Ex Officio RVS 3-6019 vfraire
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Kluck Ex Officio HBC 3-7305 lkluck
TSI Coordinator Doug Garrett Ex Officio HBC 3-7722 dgarrett
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(2-year terms)
Assessment Center Coordinator Reynaldo Valdez VP, Student Services NRG 3-4716 rvaldez
Counselor Shun-Heng (Henry) Tsai VP, Student Services CYP 3-2016 shunhen
Advising Supervisor David Zuniga VP, Student Services EVC 3-5795 dzuniga
Advising Specialist Heather Beels VP, Student Services RVS 3-6202 hbeels
Faculty, Developmental Reading Julie Wauchope Dept. Chair
Developmental Communications
EVC 3-5155 julie
Faculty, Developmental Writing Caryn Newburger Dept. Chair
Developmental Communications
RVS 3-6289 carynn
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics Carolynn Reed Dept. Chair
Mathematics
EVC 3-5825 creed
Faculty, English as a Second Language Farrah Keeler ESOL Dept. Chair NRG 3-4113 fkeeler
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Instructional Dean Hazel Ward VP, Instruction EVC 3-5015 hazelw
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-time Faculty Senate Association Connie Park Association Pres. NRG 3-4829 cpark
Adjunct Faculty Association Greg Moses Association Pres. RVS 3-1790x25910 rmoses
Association of Professional & Technical Employees Joann Kroll Association Pres. HBC 3-7893 joann.kroll
Classified Employees Association Betsy Wheatley Association Pres. HLC 3-7391 bwheat
Student Government Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA