Human Resources - Professional Development and Evaluation Programs

ACC believes in recognizing those faculty who demonstrate outstanding teaching. The following awards are coordinated through the Faculty Development office: ACC Teaching Excellence, the John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award, the NISOD Excellence Award, and the Minnie L. Stevens Piper Award nominations.

For more information about nominations for these awards, contact Christina Michura. To view a visual overview of all awards go here.

owl with morterboardACC Teaching Excellence

ACC Teaching Excellence Awards honor full-time and adjunct faculty who promote special learning opportunities, student interaction, and innovation. Other criteria are depth/breadth of knowledge in subject area and a profound teaching philosophy.

Recipients are presented with an award at the Awards Dinner and have an opportunity to be recognized at commencement. Full-time and Adjunct faculty recipients each receive a $1000 cash award. Nominations are made by faculty, staff and students.

Nominations for the ACC Teaching Excellence Award closed on December 2, 2013. Winners will be announced in January 2014 and recognized at the Awards Dinner in April.

To view recipients, please go to

Minnie L. Stevens Piper Award nominations

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation is a prestigious statewide award honoring ten professors each academic year for their dedication to the teaching profession and for their outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement. Honorees are awarded certificates naming them “Piper Professors” together with a cash honoraria of $5000.00 for each professor selected.

The purpose of these awards is to give recognition to the teaching profession rather than to research, publication, administration, or other such related activity, although these criteria are also considered by the Selection Committee. This award is considered to be one of the most prestigious awards bestowed upon faculty in the State of Texas. Only ten professors receive this award each year among a pool of approximately 10,000 educators.

How to nominate a faculty member: After securing permission from the person you are nominating, send a letter to Christina Michura, Faculty Development Manager, nominating the person and explaining why you think he or she is a good candidate for this honor.

For more information about the Foundation, visit

The nomination deadline for the Piper Professors award is October 25, 2013.

The John and Suanne Roueche Excellence Award

In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the John & Suanne Roueche Excellence Awards celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Selected by a committee, recipients will be recognized at an awards dinner at ACC and have the opportunity to attend the League for Innovations Conference in the Spring.

NISOD Excellence Award

The National Institute for Organizational Development (NISOD) Excellence Award program was established to support individual colleges’ recognition and celebration of their finest instructors.

At its annual conference, NISOD recognizes more than 1,000 Excellence Awards recipients by formally presenting them with an excellence medallion and an awards booklet that recognizes and showcases their achievements.

For more information about the NISOD award, visit

Every year, selected ACC faculty and staff receive recognition and are awarded the NISOD Excellence Award.

View the complete list of past Austin Community College NISOD Excellence Award Recipients.

To understand the Selection Process of all the Awards go here.