ACC Newsroom

got a story

2014 Foster Care Alumni Luggage Drive Underway

Imagine preparing for the transition from high school to college or a career with only a trash bag or pillowcase to hold all your belongings. That’s the reality for many Central Texas students in foster care.

ACC’s Foster Care Alumni Program helps foster care youth with this next chapter of their lives through its annual luggage drive, which continues through May 9. The college hopes to provide a piece of new luggage to each foster care student who graduates from an area high school this spring.

Donations of new luggage (preferably carry-on, rolling duffels) or monetary contributions are welcome. Consider giving individually, or teaming with others.

Drop off donated luggage at any campus foster care champion’s office (see below) or any campus Police Department. Monetary donations can be made online through ACC Marketplace. Cash, check, or credit card donations are accepted at any ACC Cashier Office.

For more information, go to the Foster Care Alumni webpage, or contact a campus Foster Care Program Champion:

Loretta Edelen, coordinator (512) 223.5106 edelen@austincc.edu
Dawn Allison, Cypress Creek (512) 223.2103 dallison@austincc.edu
Marshall Levett, Eastview (512) 223.5197 mlevett@austincc.edu
Sylvia Galvan Gonzalez, Elgin (512) 223.9407 sgalvang@austincc.edu
Guadalupe Mendoza, Hays (512) 262.6527 gmendoza@austincc.edu
Lee Reichardt, Northridge (512) 223.4877 mreichar@austincc.edu
Joyce Pope-Cain, Pinnacle (512) 223.8111 jpcain@austincc.edu
Rosalind Cunningham, Rio Grande (512) 223.3150 rcunning@austincc.edu
Chris Owens, Riverside (512) 223.6203 owensc@austincc.edu
Angelica Cancino, Riverside (512) 223.6026 acancino@austincc.edu
Kathy James, Round Rock (512) 223.0040 kjames@austincc.edu
Ruth Reinhart, South Austin (512) 223.9158 rreinhar@austincc.edu
Bette Weakley, Workforce Solutions (512) 381.4233 bweakley@austincc.edu

posted in: * Facstaff Only, Faculty and Staff News


Comments are closed.