ACC Newsroom

got a story

ACC prepares for Degree Map rollout; faculty/staff training planned

Austin Community College is preparing for a collegewide rollout of the Degree Map online planning tool in time for spring 2015 registration.

Degree Map's user-friendly interface makes it easy for students to track their progress.

Degree Map is a web-based application that makes it easier for students to chart their education goals, plan class schedules, track progress toward completion, and remain better informed about degree requirements, time involved, and costs. Austin-based Civitas Learning developed the application in partnership with ACC and other colleges and universities.

“Degree Map is an important tool for helping the college increase student success and completion rates,” says Dr. Virginia Fraire, Pinnacle Campus Student Services dean, who also oversees advising processes. “We are using technology to support new advising approaches while providing students with relevant and timely information on their academic path.”

The new version of the tool features an enhanced user interface and includes analytics that let students and advisors see course combinations that are more likely to support or impede a student’s success.

“Degree Map lays the foundation for better planning – students can visually see what their schedule looks like from semester to semester,” said Civitas Learning Program Manager Michael Koetting.

Student Alexandra Damalas says Degree Map gave her a “bigger picture” view of her coursework and degree requirements. “The convenience factor and the ease of navigation are really great,” she adds.

Faculty & staff training

Starting in September, Degree Map training sessions will be offered at each campus and online. Training is designed for faculty and staff who advise students; however, all employees are encouraged to learn about this new student success tool.

Faculty and staff who want to view an earlier version of the application can access an online Degree Map training module. The module will be updated when the new version is released.

More information

For more information about Degree Map, contact Fraire, vfraire@austincc.edu, or a designated Degree Map expert.

Degree Map experts by campus
Campus Name Email Phone
Cypress Creek Elnita Fennell efennell@austincc.edu 512-223-2107
Elgin Patricia Sanchez patricia.sanchez@austincc.edu 512-223-9415
Eastview David Zuniga dzuniga@austincc.edu 512-223-5795
Highland Business Center Mison Zuniga mzuniga@austincc.edu 512-223-7352
Highland Kathy James kjames@austincc.edu 512-223-0040
Hays Angela Cole acole@austincc.edu 512-262-6528
Northridge Mario Tenorio mtenorio@austincc.edu 512-223-4706
Pinnacle Tim Self tself@austincc.edu 512-223-8107
Rio Grande Jorge Lynch jlynch@austincc.edu 512-223-3130
Round Rock John Wooten jwooten1@austincc.edu 512-223-0038
Riverside Edgar Granillo egranill@austincc.edu 512-223-6012
South Austin Margie Sandoval-Samilpa msamilpa@austincc.edu 512-223-9164
San Marcos Goodnight Center Dana Washington dwashin1@austincc.edu 512-223-9802

posted in: * Facstaff Only, Faculty and Staff News


Comments are closed.