ACC Newsroom

got a story

Degree Map now available collegewide

Degree Map helps students track their progress.

The Degree Map application is now available to faculty, advisors, and students and accessible through Online Services.

Students and advisors can use the degree planning tool to prepare for spring registration, which begins October 20. It also can be used for students planning to graduate; October 3 is the next graduation application deadline.

Degree Map is a web-based, interactive application that makes it easier for students to chart their education goals, plan class schedules, track progress toward completion, and remain better informed about degree requirements, time, and costs. Austin-based Civitas Learning developed the application in partnership with Austin Community College and other institutions.

During the first year of implementation, several hundred counseling faculty, advisors, and students have used the application, and more than 87,000 advising plans have been submitted using the tool.

To access Degree Map

Advisors and counselors: Find the Degree Map link under “Communication” in the Online Services Advisors and Counselors menu. The previous link to the Education Plan has been removed. Advisors should use Degree Map to document advising sessions.

Faculty advisors: Find Degree Map under “Faculty Information.” During the ongoing training period, faculty can submit advising notes through Education Plan or Degree Map. Upon clicking “Student Advising,” faculty will find links for both Education Plan and Degree Map. Faculty should transition to the Degree Map application.

Faculty and staff also can log in to the application at eapps.austincc.edu/civitas/.

Students can find the Degree Map link on the Current Students webpage, and under “Academic Planning” in the Online Services Current Students menu.

Degree Map training and assistance

Student Services began Degree Map training for faculty August 20 with a demonstration for the Social and Behavioral Sciences Division. Training will be at each campus through September.  See a schedule of sessions in the Workshop & Event Registration database. A Degree Map online training module also is available. Training is designed for those who advise students; however, all employees are encouraged to learn about the application.

Degree Map experts also are available at each campus to answer faculty and staff questions about the application.

For more information, contact Virginia Fraire, vfraire@austincc.edu, or any Degree Map expert listed below.

Degree Map experts by campus

Campus Name Email Phone
Cypress Creek Elnita Fennell efennell@austincc.edu 512-223-2107
Elgin Patricia Sanchez patricia.sanchez@austincc.edu 512-223-9415
Eastview David Zuniga dzuniga@austincc.edu 512-223-5795
Highland Business Center Mison Zuniga mzuniga@austincc.edu 512-223-7352
Highland Kathy James kjames@austincc.edu 512-223-0040
Hays Angela Cole acole@austincc.edu 512-262-6528
Northridge Mario Tenorio mtenorio@austincc.edu 512-223-4706
Pinnacle Jim Boullosa jboullos@austincc.edu 512-223-8094
Rio Grande Jorge Lynch jlynch@austincc.edu 512-223-3130
Round Rock John Wooten jwooten1@austincc.edu 512-223-0038
Riverside Edgar Granillo egranill@austincc.edu 512-223-6012
South Austin Margie Sandoval-Samilpa msamilpa@austincc.edu 512-223-9164
San Marcos Goodnight Center Dana Washington dwashin1@austincc.edu 512-223-9802

posted in: * Facstaff Only, Faculty and Staff News


Leave a Reply