- Highest Ranking High School Graduates (Valedictorians)– Exemptions for tuition only are granted to those students who submit a copy of their valedictorian certificate at registration. This exemption may be granted for any one of the first two regular sessions following graduation.
- Senior Citizens– Students 65 years of age or older qualify for exemption of tuition for up to six (6) credit hours per semester on a space available basis. This exemption applies only when the student registers during the add/drop period for the course. Students must pay for courses in which they registered prior to the add/drop period or for hours in excess of the six allowed.
- Children in Foster or Other Residential Care– Exemption from payment of tuition and fees. For more information about tuition exemptions and waivers visit The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board website "College for Texans" at www.collegefortexans.org . Student must provide proof of having been in foster care or other residential care under the conservatorship of the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services on or after the day preceding the students 18th birthday but no later than their 25st birthday.
- Children of Professional Nursing Program Faculty and Staff– Exemption from the payment of tuition. The student must be a resident of Texas, not have been granted a bachelor's degree and be enrolled in an institution that offers an undergraduate or graduate program in professional nursing. To apply the student must submit to the institution a completed Professional Nursing Faculty and Staff Exemption Application. Eligibility is for no longer than 10 semesters or until receiving a bachelor's degree.
- Clinical Preceptors and their Children– Exemption from the payment of up to $500 in tuition per term. The student must be a resident of Texas and complete the Clinical Preceptor Exemption Application. Eligibility is for no longer than 10 semesters or until receiving a bachelor's degree.
- Adopted Students Formerly in Foster or Other Residential Care– Exemption from payment of tuition and fees. Student must have formerly been in foster or other residential care, adopted or subject to adoption assistance agreement under Subchapter D, Ch 162, Family Code.
- Children or Spouse of Deceased Public Servants– Exemption from the payment of tuition and fees and allowance provided for textbooks. Must be enrolled as a full-time student. Benefits limited to 200 hours of course credit or a bachelor's degree, whichever occurs first. A Proof of Claim is filed with the Employees Retirement System of Texas to apply for these benefits.
- Peace Officers Enrolled in Criminal Justice or Law Enforcement Courses– Exemption from payment of tuition and lab fees for courses offered as a part of a law enforcement-related or criminal justice curriculum. To be eligible for the exemption, students must provide proof to the college registrar they are employed as a Peace Officer by the State of Texas or by a political subdivision of Texas.
For more information about tuition exemptions and waivers visit The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board website "College for Texans" at www.collegefortexans.org .