Academic & Student Affairs Council

Functions

  1. Makes recommendations regarding district-wide policies, administrative rules and procedures related to academic and student affairs.
  2. Reviews all relevant administrative rules in accordance with Administrative Rule 3.03.011.
  3. Responds to recommendations from Committees/Task Forces which report to the Council.
  4. Communicates interests and concerns of staff and constituency groups to the appropriate entity.
  5. Promotes opportunities for student leadership and participation in the shared governance process at the college.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the college Chancellor.

FY22 Meetings: Meet virtually until further notice from 10 a.m.-12 p.m, Fridays: October 8 (1:00 - 3:00pm), November 5, December 3, February 4, March 4, April 1, May 6 and June 3.

Meeting minutes & documents

Co-Chair: Mike Midgley, Vice Chancellor, Instruction, 223-7579, midgley@austincc.edu
Co-Chair:  Dr. Shasta Buchanan, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs, 223-7056, shasta.buchanan@austincc.edu

Membership

Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
AVC, Academic Programs Dr. Gaye Lynn Scott VC, Instruction HBC 3-7341 gls@austincc.edu
Dean Dr. Giao Phan VC, Instruction HYS 3-1691 gphan@austincc.edu
Dean Dr. David Fonken VC, Instruction HLC 3-7346 fonken@austincc.edu
AVC, Workforce Programs Dr. Gretchen Riehl VC, Instruction HBC 3-7746 gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu
Executive Dean, Central Region Dr. Dorado Kinney VC, Student Affairs HLC 3-7390 dkinney@austincc.edu
AVC, Enrollment Management Dr. Melissa Curtis VC, Student Affairs HLC 3-7088 melissa.curtis@austincc.edu
Director, Advising Kathy James VC, Student Affairs HLC 3-7327 kjames@austincc.edu
Director, Student Affairs Communications Ana Rummer VC, Student Affairs HBC 3-7707 ana.rummer@austincc.edu
Supervisor, Student Life Kelly Brown VC, Student Affairs HLC 3-7159 kelly.wilson@austincc.edu
Regional Director, Financial Aid Campus Operations/Outreach Courrtney Vasquez VC, Student Affairs HBC 3-4600 cfrost@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) Dr. Nancy Stano Senate SGC 3-2602 thadzian@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) William Tolan Senate HLC 3-7074 william.tolan@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) Dr. Elizabeth Frye Senate SAC 3-9129 efrye@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (one from different dean areas) Ralph Hooper Senate SGC 3-2599 ralph.hooper@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) Dr. Shirin Khosropour VC, Instruction RGC 3-3282 shirin@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) Dr. Marcus McQuirter VC, Instruction HLC 3-7199 mmcquirt@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) TBA VC, Instruction TBA TBA TBA
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Don Morris AFA TBA TBA dmorris@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Christie Carr AFA NRG TBA ccarr2@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Christina Michura AFA HBC 3-7564 cmichura@austincc.edu
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE) Latisha Addison APTE RRC 3-0031 latisha.addison@austincc.edu
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE) Daniel Chupe-O'Hanlan APTE HBC 3-7585 dohanlan@austincc.edu
Classified Employee Association (CEA) Elihu Arzate CEA SGC 3-2730 elihu.arzate@austincc.edu
Classified Employee Association (CEA) Miguel DeLeon CEA HBC 3-7667 mdeleon@austincc.edu
VC, Instruction Mike Midgley Position (Co-Chair) HBC 3-7559 midgley@austincc.edu
VC, Student Affairs Dr. Shasta Buchanan Position (Co-Chair) HBC 3-7056 shasta.buchanan@austincc.edu
AVC, Student Support Services Dr. Ruth Reinhart VC Student Affairs HBC 3-7955 rreinhar@austincc.edu
Provost TBA Position HBC 3-7612 TBA
Student Government Association TBA SGA N/A N/A TBA
Executive Dean, Admissions, Enrollment & Completion Linda Terry VC, Student Affairs HBC 3-7666 lkluck@austincc.edu
AVC, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources Steve Christopher VC, Student Affairs RVS 3-6273 schris@austincc.edu