Academic & Student Affairs Council

Functions

  1. Makes recommendations regarding district-wide policies, administrative rules and procedures related to academic and student affairs.
  2. Reviews all relevant administrative rules in accordance with Administrative Rule 3.03.011.
  3. Responds to recommendations from Committees/Task Forces which report to the Council.
  4. Communicates interests and concerns of staff and constituency groups to the appropriate entity.
  5. Promotes opportunities for student leadership and participation in the shared governance process at the college.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the college President.

FY21 Meetings: Meet virtually until further notice from 10 a.m.-12 p.m, Fridays: October 2, November 6, December 4, February 5, March 5, April 2, May 7 and June 4.

Meeting minutes & documents

Co-Chair: Mike Midgley, VP, Instruction, 223-7579, midgley@austincc.edu
Co-Chair:  Dr. Shasta Buchanan, VP, Student Affairs, 223-7056, shasta.buchanan@austincc.edu

Membership

Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
AVP, Academic Programs Dr. Gaye Lynn Scott VP, Instruction HBC 3-7341 gls@austincc.edu
Dean Dr. Giao Phan VP, Instruction HYS 3-1691 gphan@austincc.edu
Dean Dr. David Fonken VP, Instruction HLC 3-7346 fonken@austincc.edu
AVP, Workforce Programs Dr. Gretchen Riehl VP, Instruction HBC 3-7746 gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu
Executive Dean, Central Region Dr. Dorado Kinney VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7390 dkinney@austincc.edu
AVP, Enrollment Management Dr. Melissa Curtis VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7088 melissa.curtis@austincc.edu
Director, Advising Kathy James VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7327 kjames@austincc.edu
Director, Student Affairs Communications Ana Rummer VP, Student Affairs HBC 3-7707 ana.rummer@austincc.edu
Supervisor, Student Life Kelly Brown VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7159 kelly.wilson@austincc.edu
Regional Director, Financial Aid Campus Operations/Outreach Courrtney Vasquez VP, Student Affairs HBC 3-4600 cfrost@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) Dr. Nancy Stano Senate SGC 3-2602 thadzian@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) Gale Spear Senate EVC 3-5209 gales@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas) Dr. Samantha Croft Senate RRC 3-0319 scroft@austincc.edu
FT Faculty (one from different dean areas) Christian Raymond Senate NRG 3-4732 craymond@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) Dr. Shirin Khosropour VP, Instruction RGC 3-3282 shirin@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) Dr. Marcus McQuirter VP, Instruction HLC 3-7199 mmcquirt@austincc.edu
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas) Sean Moran VP, Instruction NRG 3-4944 smoran@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Don Morris AFA TBA TBA dmorris@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Kathy Statos AFA TBA TBA kstatos@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA) Christina Michura AFA HBC 3-7564 cmichura@austincc.edu
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE) Debra Craig APTE HLC 3-7869 debra.craig@austincc.edu
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE) Lauren Sebel APTE EVC 3-5159 lsebel@austincc.edu
Classified Employee Association (CEA) Minnie Duplantis CEA SGC 3-2533 mduplant@austincc.edu
Classified Employee Association (CEA) Miguel DeLeon CEA HBC 3-7667 mdeleon@austincc.edu
VP, Instruction Mike Midgley Position (Co-Chair) HBC 3-7559 midgley@austincc.edu
VP, Student Affairs Dr. Shasta Buchanan Position (Co-Chair) HBC 3-7056 shasta.buchanan@austincc.edu
AVP, Student Support Services Dr. Ruth Reinhart VP Student Affairs HBC 3-7955 rreinhar@austincc.edu
Provost Dr. Charles Cook Position HBC 3-7612 charles.cook@austincc.edu
Student Government Association TBA SGA N/A N/A TBA
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Terry VP, Student Affairs HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
AVP, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources Steve Christopher VP, Student Affairs RVS 3-6273 schris@austincc.edu