Assessment & Advising Committee

Functions:

  1. Develops and makes recommendations regarding college-wide Instructional testing, assessment, advising and placement policies and procedures. Academic policy recommendations will be submitted through the appropriate Council.
  2. Seeks input from all areas of the College regarding effectiveness of assessment, advising and placement procedures.
  3. Provides for the improvement of assessment, advising and placement Affairs on a college-wide basis.
  4. Coordinates assessment, advising and placement functions with task forces and college-wide committees.
  5. Maintains liaison with the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) through the Executive Director of Admissions and Records to ensure compliance with TSI requirements.
  6. Initiates research in cooperation with the Institutional Effectiveness Office and evaluates assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  7. Encourages use of technology in assessment, advising and placement.
  8. Develops policies and procedures for use of Instructional Testing Centers.

Recommendations: Forwarded to Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY20: Meetings are held on the 4th Friday (generally). Highland Campus, Room 2216 from 9:00 am–11:00 am (unless indicated otherwise) on the following days: September 27, October 25, November 22, February 28, March 27, (8:30-10:00 a.m.), April 24, June 26, and July 24.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)
Other questions about the Assessment and Advising Committee please contact Jocelyne Arizpe.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Affairs): Dorado Kinney, Dean of Student Affairs, HLC, 223-7398.

Faculty Co-chair (elected by the Committee members): TBA

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Executive Dean of Student Affairs, Central Dorado Kinney Position HLC 3-7398 dkinney@austincc.edu
Executive Dean of Student Affairs, South Robert 'Wade' Bradfute Position HYS 512-262-6547 rbradfut@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Terry Position HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
TSI Coordinator Annisha Morgan Position HBC 3-7770 amorgan@austincc.edu
Director of Career & Academic Advising Kathy James Position HLC 3-7327 kjames@austincc.edu
Director of Testing Holly Delacroix-DeRouen Position HYS 3-1541 hdelacro@austincc.edu
Executive Director of Adult Education Katherine Dowdy Position HBC 3-7044 kdowdy@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(2-year terms)
Assessment Center Coordinator Zuleyka Izquierdo VP, Student Affairs HYS 3-3165 zuleyka.izquierdo@austincc.edu
Counselor Howard Sharp VP, Student Affairs NRG 3-4729 howard.sharp@austincc.edu
Advising Supervisor Patsy Phillips VP, Student Affairs CYP 3-2104 pphillip@austincc.edu
Advising Specialist Heather Beels VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7324 hbeels@austincc.edu
Faculty, English Jeanne Chaltain Dept. Chair
English/Journalism
CYP 3-2162 chaltain@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Reading Ursula Parker Dept. Chair
Integrated Reading and Writing
RRC 3-0067 uparker@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics John Frederic Dept. Chair
Mathematics
CYP 3-2094 jfrederi@austincc.edu
Faculty, English as a Second Language Shannon Bailey ESOL Dept. Chair HLC 3-7452 sbailey@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Instructional Dean Lorlie Ellis VP, Instruction NRG 3-4114 lorlie.ellis@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-time Faculty Senate Association Suzanne Summers Association Pres. HLC TBA suzanne.summers@austincc.edu
Full-time Faculty Senate Association TBA Association Pres TBA TBA TBA
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Association of Professional & Technical Employees TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Classified Employees Association Lionarda Villarino Association Pres. HBC 3-7526 lvillari@austincc.edu
Student Government Association Maria Tavera Association Pres. HLC 3-7448 maria.tavera@g.austincc.edu