Assessment & Advising Committee

Functions:

  1. Develops and makes recommendations regarding college-wide Instructional testing, assessment, advising and placement policies and procedures. Academic policy recommendations will be submitted through the appropriate Council.
  2. Seeks input from all areas of the College regarding effectiveness of assessment, advising and placement procedures.
  3. Provides for the improvement of assessment, advising and placement Affairs on a college-wide basis.
  4. Coordinates assessment, advising and placement functions with task forces and college-wide committees.
  5. Maintains liaison with the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) through the Executive Director of Admissions and Records to ensure compliance with TSI requirements.
  6. Initiates research in cooperation with the Institutional Effectiveness Office and evaluates assessment, advising and placement services on a college-wide basis.
  7. Encourages use of technology in assessment, advising and placement.
  8. Develops policies and procedures for use of Instructional Testing Centers.

Recommendations: Forwarded to Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY21: Meetings are held virtually (until further notice) on the 4th Friday (generally), 9:00am–11:00am on the following days: September 25, October 23, November 27, February 26, March 26, April 23, June 25, and July 23.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)
Other questions about the Assessment and Advising Committee please contact Vanessa Hollis at vanessa.hollis@austincc.edu.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Affairs): Voncille Wright, Dean of Student Affairs, RGC, 223-3128, vwright@austincc.edu

Faculty Co-chair (elected by the Committee members): TBA

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Dean of Student Affairs Voncille Wright Position RGC 3-3128 vwright@austincc.edu
Dean of Student Affairs Roxane Royalty Position RVS 3-6019 rroyalty@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Terry Position HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
TSI Coordinator Leilani 'Lani' Salinas Position HBC 3-7770 lelani.salinas@austincc.edu
Director of Career & Academic Advising Kathy James Position HLC 3-7327 kjames@austincc.edu
Director of Testing Holly Delacroix-DeRouen Position HYS 3-1541 hdelacro@austincc.edu
Executive Director of Adult Education Katherine Dowdy Position HBC 3-7044 kdowdy@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(2-year terms)
Assessment Center Coordinator Zuleyka Izquierdo VP, Student Affairs HYS 3-3165 zuleyka.izquierdo@austincc.edu
Counselor Howard Sharp VP, Student Affairs NRG 3-4729 howard.sharp@austincc.edu
Advising Supervisor Olga Eckert VP, Student Affairs RVS 3-6319 olga.eckert@austincc.edu
Advising Specialist Heather Beels VP, Student Affairs HLC 3-7324 hbeels@austincc.edu
Faculty, English Jeanne Chaltain Dept. Chair
English/Journalism
CYP 3-2162 chaltain@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Reading Ursula Parker Dept. Chair
Integrated Reading and Writing
RRC 3-0067 uparker@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics John Frederic Dept. Chair
Mathematics
CYP 3-2094 jfrederi@austincc.edu
Faculty, English as a Second Language Susan Das ESOL Dept. Chair HLC 3-7452 sdas2@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Instructional Dean Lorlie Ellis VP, Instruction NRG 3-4114 lorlie.ellis@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-time Faculty Senate Association Jackie Burns Association Pres. RRC 3-0445 jackie.burns@austincc.edu
Full-time Faculty Senate Association Kate Patton Association Pres RRC 3-0262 kathryn.patton@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Sarah Wilson Association Pres. CYP 3-1790
x23528
swilson@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Ping Chu Association Pres. HLC TBA pchu@austincc.edu
Association of Professional & Technical Employees Sidnie Campbell Association Pres. NRG 3-4728 sidnie.campbell@austincc.edu
Classified Employees Association Miguel DeLeon Association Pres. HBC 3-7667 mdeleon@austincc.edu
Student Government Association Precious Ohemeng Association Pres. HLC 3-7448 precious.ohemeng@g.austincc.edu