College Accessibility Committee

Functions:

  1. Reviews accessibility policies, practices and services to develop strategies and recommendations for district-wide implementation.
  2. Identifies strategies to provide training opportunities for faculty and staff to assist the College in appropriately serving students and employees with disabilities.
  3. Reviews resources and recommend initiatives that have budgetary implications.
  4. Serves as forum for discussion of programs and services for students and employees with disabilities.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council, and other appropriate councils and stakeholders.

Meetings FY20: Generally meets on the second Friday of the month, 9:00am-11:00am, in HLC Room 2105: September 13, 2019, October 11, 2019, November 8, 2019, February 14, 2020, March 6, 2020, April 10, 2020, June 12, 2020 and July 10, 2020.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)

Other questions about the CAC can be referred to Lisa Lopez.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Services):
Steve Christopher, Associate Vice President, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources, 223-6273, schris@austincc.edu

Co-Chair (elected by the Committee): Ginger Bennett, Interpreter Services, 223-6397, virginia.bennett@austincc.edu

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
AVP, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources Steve Christopher Position RVS 3-6273 schris@austincc.edu
Emergency, Health, Safety and Insurance Staff TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
TBDirector, Risk and Campus Operations Adam Green Position HBC 3-7832 adam.green@austincc.edu
IRT Staff Michelle Escudier Position SAC 3-9178 michelle.escudier@austincc.edu
michelle.escudier@austincc.eduRepresentatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Dean of Student Services TBD VP, Student Services TBD TBD TBD
Campus Manager Linda Haywood EVP, College Operations & Public Affair CYP 3-2002 lhaywood@austincc.edu
Student Accessibility Service Teri Villegas-Shipman VP, Student Services EGN 3-9482 teriv@austincc.edu
Counselor/Advisor Anita Sheridan-Normann VP, Student Services RRC 3-0037 anita.sheridan-normann@austincc.edu
Continuing Education TBA Exec. Dean, Cont. Ed. TBA TBA TBA
Facilities Deborah Fermat Director, Facilities and  Construction SVC 3-1128 deborah.fermat@austincc.edu
Human Resources TBA VP, HR TBA TBA TBA
Interpreter Services Ginger Bennett Supervisor Interpreter Services RVS 3-6397 virginia.bennett@austincc.edu
Student Life Supervisor Kelly Brown VP, Student Services RGC 3-3110 kelly.wilson@austincc.edu
Learning Lab Manager Will Zech Director, SLS RRC 3-0213 wzech@austincc.edu
Testing Center Supervisor Zuleyka Izquierdo Director, SLS RGC 3-3165 zuleyka.izquierdo@austincc.edu
Campus Police Lynn Dixon Chief, Campus Police SVC 3-1222 cdixon@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Communication TBA Department Chair, Developmental Communication TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics TBA Department Chair, Mathematics TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental ESL (for the deaf) TBA Department Chair, ESL TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Library James Loomis Dean, Library Services RVS 3-6134 james.loomis@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Fallon Brizendin Association Pres. RGC 3-3274 fallon.brizendine@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Association of Professional-Technical Employees Latoya Dixon Association Pres. TBA TBA latoya.dixon@austincc.edu
Classified Employees Association Timothy Fries Association Pres. TBA TBA timothy.fries@austincc.edu
Student Government Association Kathleen Brown Association Pres. RGC 3-3116 email
Student Government Association TBA Association Pres. RGC 3-3116 TBA