College Accessibility Committee

Functions:

  1. Reviews accessibility policies, practices and services to develop strategies and recommendations for district-wide implementation.
  2. Identifies strategies to provide training opportunities for faculty and staff to assist the College in appropriately serving students and employees with disabilities.
  3. Reviews resources and recommend initiatives that have budgetary implications.
  4. Serves as forum for discussion of programs and services for students and employees with disabilities.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council, and other appropriate councils and stakeholders.

Meetings FY21: Meetings are held virtually (until further notice) on the second Friday (generally) of the month, 9:00am-11:00am: September 11, October 9, November 13, February 12, March 5 (8:30am-10am), April 9, and June 11.

Meeting agendas and minutes (ACC Only)

Other questions about the CAC can be referred to Lisa Lopez.

Chair (appointed by the VP, Student Services):
Steve Christopher, Associate Vice President, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources, 223-6273, schris@austincc.edu

Co-Chair (elected by the Committee): Ginger Bennett, Interpreter Services, 223-6397, virginia.bennett@austincc.edu

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
AVP, Student Accessibility & Social Support Resources Steve Christopher Position RVS 3-6273 schris@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Regulatory Affairs Michael Garcia Position HBC 3-7020 michael.garcia@austincc.edu
Director, Risk and Campus Operations Adam Green Position HBC 3-7832 adam.green@austincc.edu
Dean, Continuing Education Hector Aguilar Position HBC 3-7663 haguilar@austincc.edu
IDS Staff Michelle Escudier Position SAC 3-9178 michelle.escudier@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Dean of Student Services TBA VP, Student Affairs TBA TBA TBA
Campus Manager Linda Haywood EVP, College Operations & Public Affair CYP 3-2002 lhaywood@austincc.edu
Disability Services Specialist Teri Villegas-Shipman VP, Student Affairs EGN 3-9482 teriv@austincc.edu
Disability Services Specialist TBA VP, Student Affairs TBA TBA TBA
Clinical Counselor Anita Sheridan-Normann VP, Student Affairs RRC 3-0037 anita.sheridan-normann@austincc.edu
Continuing Education TBA Exec. Dean, Cont. Ed. TBA TBA TBA
Facilities Deborah Fermat Director, Facilities and  Construction SVC 3-1128 deborah.fermat@austincc.edu
Building & Grounds TBA TBA TBA TBA TBA
Human Resources TBA VP, HR TBA TBA TBA
Interpreter Services Ginger Bennett Supervisor Interpreter Services RVS 3-6397 virginia.bennett@austincc.edu
Student Life Kelly Brown VP, Student Affairs RGC 3-3110 kelly.wilson@austincc.edu
Learning Lab Manager Will Zech Executive Director, Learning Support Services RRC 3-0213 wzech@austincc.edu
Testing Center Supervisor Zuleyka Izquierdo Director, Testing Services RGC 3-3165 zuleyka.izquierdo@austincc.edu
Campus Police Lynn Dixon Chief, Campus Police SVC 3-1222 cdixon@austincc.edu
Faculty, Developmental Communication TBA Full-Time Faculty Association President TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental Mathematics TBA AVP, Academic Transfer Programs TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Developmental ESL (for the deaf) TBA AVP, Workforce Education TBA TBA TBA
Faculty, Library James Loomis Dean, Library Services RVS 3-6134 james.loomis@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Fallon Brizendin Association Pres. RGC 3-3274 fallon.brizendine@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Association of Professional-Technical Employees Latoya Dixon Association Pres. TBA TBA latoya.dixon@austincc.edu
Classified Employees Association Valori Riethmayer  Association Pres. TBA TBA valori.riethmayer@austincc.edu
Student Government Association Kathleen Brown Association Pres. RGC 3-3116 email
Student Government Association TBA Association Pres. RGC 3-3116 TBA