Curriculum & Programs Committee

Functions

The Curriculum & Programs Committee provides guidance and support for matters relating to curriculum at Austin Community College, including the creation, implementation, and revision of courses, programs, and awards. The Committee serves as the approving body for matters relating to curriculum. The Committee serves as the recommending body for college-wide issues relating to curriculum such as new program development, new course development, compliance with accrediting bodies and state rules and mandates, master syllabus content, general education and core curriculum updates, and other matters relating to curricular offerings.

To support this work, the Curriculum & Programs Committee will:

1. Review and monitor all courses, awards, and programs offered by Austin Community College to ensure they reflect the College’s mission and strategic plan and support student success through guided pathways

2. Review and monitor all courses, awards, and programs offered by Austin Community College to ensure compliance with rules, policies, procedures, accreditation standards, and requirements of all regulatory bodies. This includes, but is not limited to the Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), the Texas Legislature and state statute, and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, and accompanying regulatory documents such as the Guide to Instructional Programs in Workforce Education (GIPWE), the Workforce Education Course Manual (WECM), and the Lower- Division Academic Course Guide Manual (ACGM).

3. Review requests and make appropriate recommendations within credit (UG) instruction and Continuing Education (CE), including such areas as Honors program courses, Study Abroad program courses, Service-learning courses, instructional modalities, or other specialized course offerings. These requests will include proposals for:

a. New courses, awards, or programs
b. Modifications to existing courses, awards, or programs
c. Updates to or deletions of courses, awards, or programs
d. Faculty credentials changes related to new courses, awards, or programs
e. Updates to the Core Curriculum

4. Review supporting documentation for new courses, awards, and programs that provide information about facilities needs, equipment needs, and library resources that are impacted by the proposed new courses, awards, or programs

5. Develop and publish a style guide. This includes:

a. Approving standard language and format for program maps to ensure consistency and clarity for students (e.g., advising notes)
b. Approving updates to the program map templates

6. Maintain and regularly update a procedures manual for curricular changes, to include:

a. Approving updates to the process, timelines, and forms related to curriculum and programs

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

FY21 Meetings: Meetings will be held as virtual meetings on Fridays from 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., unless otherwise noted, on the following dates: September 18, October 16, November 20, January 22, February 19 (last meeting for inclusion in catalog 2021-2022), March 26 (for returning proposals), April 16 (tentative for Committee Business), and June 18 (tentative if needed).

Proposal packages are due to Offices of Curriculum Development/HBC two weeks (10 working days) prior to the actual meeting date.

Meeting agendas and minutes
Tammy Chalermpued, 512-223-7639 or tchalerm@austincc.edu

If the information you are looking for is not available at the above website or if you have other questions about this committee, please contact ollad@austincc.edu

Co-Chairs:

AVP, Transfer Programs, Dr. Gaye Lynn Scott, 512-223-7841 or gls@austincc.edu
AVP Workforce Education, Dr. Gretchen Riehl, 512-223-7746 or gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Associate Vice President, Academic Transfer Gaye Lynn Scott Position HBC 3-7841 gls@austincc.edu
Associate Vice President, Workforce Education Gretchen Riehl Position HBC 3-7746 gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu
Interim Associate Vice President, College & High School Relations Mison Zuniga Position HBC 3-7063 mzuniga@austincc.edu
Associate Vice President, Distance Education Erasmus Addae Position RRC 3-0423 erasmus.addae@austincc.edu
Dean, Assessment & Evaluation Ron Johns  Position HLC 3-7491  rjohns@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices 
(1-year terms)
Dean, Workforce Brandon Whatley VP, Instruction RVS 3-6076 bwhatley@austincc.edu
Dean, Workforce Lorlie Ellis VP, Instruction NRG 3-4114 lorlie.ellis@austincc.edu
Dean, Academic Deshaunta Stewart VP, Instruction TBA TBA deshaunta.stewart@austincc.edu
Dean, Academic Matthew Daude Laurents VP, Instruction SGC 3-2630 mdaude@austincc.edu
Professor (Librarian) Jonathan Buckstead Dean, Library Services CYP 3-2132 jrb@austincc.edu
Professor (Counselor) Dawn Allison VP, Student Affairs RRC 3-0181 dallison@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Jorge Lynch Association Pres. RGC 3-3130 jlynch@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Hawk Association Pres. RVS 3-6283 chawk@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate David Dettmer Association Pres. RVS 3-6064 ddettmer@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Elizabeth Frye Association Pres. SAC 3-9129 efrye@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Jason Vidrine Association Pres. HLC 3-7434 cvidrine@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Cathy Angell Association Pres. NRG 3-4034 cangell@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sandra Goh Association Pres. RGC 3-3123 sgoh@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Mary Kohls Association Pres. HLC 3-3185 kohls@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association James Christianson Association Pres. NRG 3-1790
x22076
jchristi@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association J. Gumaro Rodriguez Association Pres. TBA TBA jose.rodriguez1@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Samuel Donaldson Association Pres. TBA TBA samuel.donaldson@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Alexander Misthos Association Pres. TBA TBA alexander.misthos@austincc.edu
Professional/Technical Association Tomi Welch Association Pres. HBC 3-7018 twelch3@austinccedu
Professional/Technical Association Vacant Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Classified Association Katie Lessley Association Pres. CYP 3-2639 klessley@austincc.edu
Classified Association Vacant Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Student Government Association Lira Ramirez Association Pres. N/A N/A lira.ramirez@g.austincc.edu
Student Government Association TBA Association Pres. N/A N/A TBA
Non-Voting Members
(serve by virtue of the position held)
VP, Instruction Mike Midgley Position HBC 3-7579 mmidgley@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Admissions & Records Linda Kluck Terry Position HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Student Assistance & Veterans Affairs Jason Briseño Position HBC 3-7950 jbriseno2@austincc.edu
Director, Risk and Campus Operations Adam Green Position SVC 3-1034 adam.green@austincc.edu
Associate Dean, Planning & Accreditation Misty Rasmussen Position HBC 3-7584 misty.rasmussen@austincc.edu