Curriculum & Programs Committee

Functions

The Curriculum & Programs Committee provides guidance and support for matters relating to curriculum at Austin Community College, including the creation, implementation, and revision of courses, programs, and awards. The Committee serves as the approving body for matters relating to curriculum. The Committee serves as the recommending body for college-wide issues relating to curriculum such as new program development, new course development, compliance with accrediting bodies and state rules and mandates, master syllabus content, general education and core curriculum updates, and other matters relating to curricular offerings.

To support this work, the Curriculum & Programs Committee will:

1. Review and monitor all courses, awards, and programs offered by Austin Community College to ensure they reflect the College’s mission and strategic plan and support student success through guided pathways

2. Review and monitor all courses, awards, and programs offered by Austin Community College to ensure compliance with rules, policies, procedures, accreditation standards, and requirements of all regulatory bodies. This includes, but is not limited to the Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), the Texas Legislature and state statute, and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, and accompanying regulatory documents such as the Guide to Instructional Programs in Workforce Education (GIPWE), the Workforce Education Course Manual (WECM), and the Lower- Division Academic Course Guide Manual (ACGM).

3. Review requests and make appropriate recommendations within credit (UG) instruction and Continuing Education (CE), including such areas as Honors program courses, Study Abroad program courses, Service-learning courses, instructional modalities, or other specialized course offerings. These requests will include proposals for:

a. New courses, awards, or programs
b. Modifications to existing courses, awards, or programs
c. Updates to or deletions of courses, awards, or programs
d. Faculty credentials changes related to new courses, awards, or programs
e. Updates to the Core Curriculum

References:
Curriculum & Programs Committee Forms
Core Curriculum Change Request  

4. Review supporting documentation for new courses, awards, and programs that provide information about facilities needs, equipment needs, and library resources that are impacted by the proposed new courses, awards, or programs

5. Develop and publish a style guide. This includes:

a. Approving standard language and format for program maps to ensure consistency and clarity for students (e.g., advising notes) - Reference: C&P Style Guide
b. Approving updates to the program map templates

6. Maintain and regularly update a procedures manual for curricular changes, to include:

a. Approving updates to the process, timelines, and forms related to curriculum and programs

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

FY22 Meetings: Meetings will be held as virtual meetings on Fridays from 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m., unless otherwise noted, on the following dates: September 17, October 15, November 19, January 21, February 18, March 25, April 15 and June 17.

Proposal packages are due to Offices of Curriculum Development/HBC two weeks (10 working days) prior to the actual meeting date.

Meeting agendas and minutes
Tammy Chalermpued, 512-223-7639 or tchalerm@austincc.edu

Co-Chairs:

AVC, Transfer Programs, Dr. Gaye Lynn Scott, 512-223-7841 or gls@austincc.edu
AVC Workforce Education, Dr. Gretchen Riehl, 512-223-7746 or gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu

Membership
Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Transfer Gaye Lynn Scott Position HBC 3-7841 gls@austincc.edu
Associate Vice Chancellor, Workforce Education Gretchen Riehl Position HBC 3-7746 gretchen.riehl@austincc.edu
Associate Vice Chancellor, Distance Education Erasmus Addae Position RRC 3-0423 erasmus.addae@austincc.edu
Associate Dean, Assessment & Evaluation Ron Johns  Position HLC 3-7491  rjohns@austincc.edu
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices 
(1-year terms)
Dean, Workforce Brandon Whatley VC, Instruction RVS 3-6076 bwhatley@austincc.edu
Dean, Workforce Lorlie Ellis VC, Instruction NRG 3-4114 lorlie.ellis@austincc.edu
Dean, Academic Deshaunta Stewart VC, Instruction TBA TBA deshaunta.stewart@austincc.edu
Dean, Academic Matthew Daude Laurents VC, Instruction SGC 3-2630 mdaude@austincc.edu
Professor (Librarian) Jonathan Buckstead Dean, Library Services CYP 3-2132 jrb@austincc.edu
Professor (Counselor) Dawn Allison VC, Student Affairs RRC 3-0181 dallison@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Jorge Lynch Association Pres. RGC 3-3130 jlynch@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Carol Hawk Association Pres. RVS 3-6283 chawk@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Athena Lemus-Wilson Association Pres. HYS 3-7473 athena.lemus-wilson@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Rebecca Czuchry Association Pres. RGC TBA rebecca.czuchry@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Kristy McDermot Association Pres. RRC 3-0182 kmcdermo@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Cathy Angell Association Pres. NRG 3-4034 cangell@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sandra Goh Association Pres. RGC 3-3123 sgoh@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Victoria Taylor Association Pres. HLC 3-7906 victoria.taylor@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association James Christianson Association Pres. NRG 3-1790
x22076
jchristi@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association J. Gumaro Rodriguez Association Pres. TBA TBA jose.rodriguez1@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association TBA Association Pres. TBA TBA TBA
Adjunct Faculty Association Alexander Misthos Association Pres. TBA TBA alexander.misthos@austincc.edu
Professional/Technical Association Tomi Welch Association Pres. HBC 3-7018 twelch3@austinccedu
Classified Association Matthew Campbell Association Pres. HBC 3-7841 matthew.campbell@austincc.edu
Student Government Association Yunseo (Lea) Hur Association Pres. TBA TBA yunseo.hur@g.austincc.edu
Non-Voting Members
(serve by virtue of the position held)
Vice Chancellor, Instruction Mike Midgley Position HBC 3-7579 mmidgley@austincc.edu
Executive Dean, Admissions, Enrollment & Completion Linda Kluck Terry Position HBC 3-7503 lkluck@austincc.edu
Executive Director, Student Assistance & Veterans Affairs Jason Briseño Position HBC 3-7950 jbriseno2@austincc.edu
Director, Risk and Campus Operations Vacant Position TBA TBA TBA
Associate Dean, Planning & Accreditation Misty Rasmussen Position HBC 3-7584 misty.rasmussen@austincc.edu
Interim Associate Vice Chancellor, College & High School Relations Mison Zuniga Position HBC 3-7063 mzuniga@austincc.edu