Distance Education Committee


  1. Reviews policies and guidelines, and recommends changes to support quality distance education programs.
  2. Established standards of good practice for distance education course development and delivery based on SACS and THECB guidelines.
  3. Assists in the analysis of evaluation for distance education student support services, and recommends changes to improve activities and outcomes.
  4. Advises staff on faculty development and resources needed to design, develop and implement quality distance education courses.

Recommendations: Forwarded to the Academic and Student Affairs Council.

Meetings FY20:  1:00–2:30pm, HLC Room 2103 on the following dates: September 13, 2019, November 1, 2019, February 7, 2020 and April 3, 2020.

Agendas & Minutes 
If you have any questions about this committee, please contact Pam Montalbano, 223-0422, pamela.montalbano@austincc.edu

Co-Chair:  April Whalen, Student Success Manager, 512-223-0430, april.whalen@austincc.edu
Co-Chair:  Azzurra Crispino, 512-223-4039 acrispin@austincc.edu

Position Name Appointed by Campus Phone Email
Associate Vice President of Distance Education Erasmus Addae Position RRC 3-0423 erasmus.addae@austincc.edu
Manager, Virtual College of Texas TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
Interim Director, Instructional Development Services Matthew Evins Position HBC 3-7564 matthew.evins@austincc.edu
LMS Analyst, Distance Learning LaTasha Hussey Position RRC 3-0421 latasha.hussey@austincc.edu
Specialist, Distance Education Design Amy Setter Position RRC 3-0418 amy.setter@austincc.edu
Library Services, Distance Education Liaison TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
Counselor, Distance Education TBA Position TBA TBA TBA
Representatives of Job Functions or College Offices
(1-year terms)
Workforce CE Coordinator Nancy Laudenslager Director, Workforce Development Center HBC 3-7693 nlaudens@austincc.edu
Instructional Design Specialist Denise Robledo Instructional Development Services RRC 3-0449 denise.robledo@austincc.edu
Student Retention and Intervention Manager April Whalen AVP, Student Success & Analytics RRC 3-0075 april.whalen@austincc.edu
Coordinator, Business Testing Services Loreah Johnson VP, Student Services HLC 3-7399 ljohnso3@austincc.edu
Instructional Dean Giao Phan VP, Instruction HYS 3-1670 gphan@austincc.edu
Representatives of ACC Constituencies
(1-year terms)
Full-Time Faculty Senate Nina Almasy Association Pres. RVS 3-5787 nalmasy@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Ariana Cortes Association Pres. HYS 3-9228 ariana.cortes@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Azzurra Crispino Association Pres. NRG 3-0430 acrispin@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Corey Greathouse Association Pres. SAC 3-9210 corey.greathouse@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Al Purcell Association Pres. RGC 3-3398 apurcell@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Stacy (Liz) Hundley Association Pres. EVC 3-5181 stacy.hundley@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Kristy McDermott Association Pres. EVC 3-0182 kmcdermo@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Kathleen Nakasone Association Pres. HLC 3-5507 kathleen.nakasone@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Sarah Strong Association Pres. RVS 3-6260 sstrong@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Wajma Nasher Association Pres. RRC 3-1984 wnasher@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Ann Palmer Association Pres. EVC 3-5172 apalmer@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Jeff Stringer Association Pres. NRG 3-4866 stringer@austincc.edu
Full-Time Faculty Senate Terry Barksdale Association Pres. CYP 3-2150 tbarksda@austincc.edu
Adjunct Faculty Association Marla Dean Association Pres. RRC 3-1790
ext. 26508
Adjunct Faculty Association Herb Coleman Association Pres. RRC 3-1790
ext. 22162
Professional-Technical Association Rachel Barrera Association Pres. HBC 3-7975 rachel.barrera@austincc.edu
Classified Employees Association Mireya Garza Association Pres. RRC 3-0001 mireya.garza@austincc.edu