ACC congratulates 2020 Teaching and Leadership Excellence Award recipients

Austin Community College (ACC) congratulates recipients of its annual Excellence in Teaching and Leadership Awards.

Leadership Awards
Recipients of the ACC Leadership Award are recognized for going above and beyond the duties listed in their job descriptions. They may serve as mentors to their colleagues or staff members, provide assistance beyond their normal duties to aid their department or the institution as a whole, volunteer to help with institution-wide projects, encourage their staff or colleagues to enhance their education and/or their professional skills, provide superior internal and external customer service, support the institution in a positive and optimistic manner, represent the institution in a professional manner, and consistently seek improvement of their own skills. 

  • Classified Employee of the Year | Henry Cantu, Technician, Maintenance
  • Professional-Technical Employee of the Year | Jason Sanchez, Manager, High School Programs Enrollment & Outreach
  • Administrator of the Year | Amber Kelley, Executive Dean, Student Affairs
  • Faculty Leader of the Year | G. W. Hildebrand, Department Chair, Criminal Justice
  • President’s Leadership Excellence Award Winners | Brette Lea, Vice President, Communications & Marketing, and Dr. Guillermo Martinez, Interim Vice President, Student Affairs

Teaching Excellence Awards
The ACC Teaching Excellence Awards honor full-time and adjunct faculty who promote special learning opportunities, student interaction, depth/breadth of knowledge in a subject area and innovation.

  • Teaching Excellence Full-Time Faculty Award | Molly McClurg, Visual Communication
  • Teaching Excellence Adjunct Faculty Award | Tracy Partin, Health & Kinesiology

NISOD Excellence Awards
Recipients of the NISOD Excellence Award are recognized for doing extraordinary work on their campuses. They are honored at the annual International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence and receive an excellence medallion and awards booklet that recognizes and showcases their achievements.

  • Omar Alaryan, Hospitality, Management & Event Planning & Tourism
  • Dr. Jeff Bechtold, Physics
  • Jill Bosché, English
  • Charlotte Gullick, Creative Writing
  • Mary Havens, Library Services
  • Dr. Lillian Huerta, Humanities
  • Susan Meigs, Instructional Associate, Learning Labs
  • Dr. David Sanchez, Biology 

eFaculty of the Year Award  
This award recognizes an outstanding ACC Faculty member who has creatively incorporated Internet-based technologies to teach online and/or hybrid courses at ACC. The recipient designed and taught one or more online or hybrid courses with an imaginative approach, well-designed course materials, instructional strategies, and a demonstrated rapport with the course participants.

  • Stephanie Long, Geographic Information Systems

Piper Professor Nominee Award
The Piper Professor Nominee Award is a statewide award that recognizes outstanding full-time faculty in the teaching profession. Higher education institutions must be invited to submit a nominee. Only ten professors are selected to receive this award each year.

  • John Nation, Nursing

The League Excellence Awards (formerly Roueche Awards)
In recognition of the long tradition of excellence in community college teaching and leadership, the League Excellence Awards (formerly Roueche Awards) celebrate outstanding contributions and leadership by community college faculty and staff. Selected by a committee, recipients will be recognized at an Awards Dinner at ACC and have the opportunity to attend the League for Innovations Conference in the Spring.

  • G. W. Hildebrand, Department Chair, Criminal Justice
  • Amber Kelley, Executive Dean, Student Affairs
  • Brette Lea, Vice President, Communications & Marketing
  • Dr. Guillermo Martinez, Interim Vice President, Student Affairs
  • Molly McClurg, Associate Professor, Visual Communication
  • John Nation, Professor, Nursing
  • Tracy Partin, Adjunct Professor, Health & Kinesiology

All recipients will be honored at the ACC awards dinner in April. For questions please contact the Faculty and Instructional Development Office by phone at 512-223-7216 or email at