Ascender Events Calendar

Ascender events are held during the fall and spring semesters. Note: Events and dates are tentative, as details may change due to COVID-19.

Fall 2020

Event Schedule
Location/Date & Time Activity/Event Description
Fri, Aug. 21
12pm-1:30pm
Room TBD

Te aventaste! Alumni Reunion

You did it! We want to celebrate YOU and all of your successes! Come join us at this alumni reunion (All Ascender and Puente past students are invited to participate), whether it be you completed Ascender, transferred to a university, or you want to share with us your most recent accomplishments.

If you are still a student or if you took a break (life happens!) you are welcome to attend, we will be ready to answer all of your questions and any doubts you may have about college.

*All alumni students are invited

HYS
Mon, Aug. 10, 12pm

SAC
Tue, Aug. 11, 12pm

RVS
Wed, Aug.12, 12pm

HLC
Thur, Aug. 13, 12pm

NRG
Fri, Aug. 14, 12pm

Rooms TBD

Student Summer Orientations (1 hour event)

Welcome, Ascender!!
Learn the foundations and objectives of Ascender. Meet with your Advisors, Outreach Specialist, and Instructors who will support you in your first year of college. This is your chance to learn about the program, meet your classmates, and ask any questions!
Fri, Jul. 31, 12-2pm

Tues, Aug. 4, 12-2pm

Fri, Aug. 7, 12–2pm

Mon, Aug.17, 12-2pm

Wed, Aug. 19, 12-2pm

Rooms TBD
Mentor Orientation

Training and valuable information for mentors. In this session, mentors will understand their role and how to manage the time commitment to their students.

Professional Development (2 hrs) provided.

*Mandatory event for New Mentors

HBC/HLC Cohort
Wed, Aug. 26, 12pm
HLC 2212

Thurs, Aug. 27, 10:30am
HLC 2210

Thursday, Aug. 27
12pm
HLC 2211

HYS Cohort
Mon, Aug.31, 10:30am
HYS 1203

Mon, Aug. 31, 12pm
HYS 1203

Tues, Sep. 1, 9am
HYS 1314

RVS Cohort
Tues, Sep. 1, 9am
RVSG 9116

Tues, Sep 1, 12pm
RVSA 2221

Wed, Sep. 2, 1:30pm
RVSG 9113

SAC Cohort
Wed, Sep. 2, 1:30pm
SAC 1137

Thur, Sep. 3, 1:30 pm
SAC 1137

Thur, Sep 3, 12pm
SAC 1205

NRG Cohort
Mon, Sep. 7, 10:30am
NRG4 4220

Tues, Sep. 8, 12pm
NRG4 4147

Student-Mentor Orientation during EDUC 1300 class.

Students will learn the objectives and expectations of the program. They will learn how to manage their time with their mentor, and develop a meaningful relationship. They will also get information on the events from the Club and the Ascender program. Snacks provided.

*Mandatory for students only

HYS
Fri, Sep. 4, 12-2pm
Room TBD

RVS
Fri, Sep. 11, 12-2pm
Room TBD

SAC
Fri, Sep. 18, 12-2pm
Room TBD

HLC
Fri, Sep. 25, 12-2pm
Room TBD

Mentor and Mentee Matching

In this activity, mentors will be introduced to their students and will participate in various activities. They will get to know one another and they will be able to plan ways to meet during the semester.
(2 hours)

*Mandatory event for all student cohorts and Mentors to attend.

16 de Septiembre
Celebration
TBD
ACC honors Hispanic heritage at 16 de Septiembre

Celebrate Texas first Independence day at EVC Campus room 8500

HYS
Fri, Oct. 2, 3-5pm
Room TBD

RVS & HLC cohorts
Fri, Oct. 9, 6-8:30pm
Room TBD

SAC
Fri, Oct. 16, 6-8pm
Room TBD

NRG
Fri, Oct. 23, 6-8pm
Room TBD

Noche de Familia/Family Night

Parents will learn about the bases of the Ascender program.
Students will have dinner with their families, will introduce their mentor to them, and will participate in activities (2 hours).

*Mandatory event for all student cohorts and Mentors to attend
*2 Family members per student

 TBD University Tours

As part of the transfer experience, students will tour different university campuses. They will also have an admission session, sit in a mock class, enjoy lunch at the cafeteria, and receive valuable information on how to plan to transfer to a 4-year institution.

*Mandatory event for all students to attend
*Optional for Mentors 
Family event
Fri, Oct. 30, 5pm-8pm
(Room TBD--EVC 8500)

Film Screening of Coco/Día de los Muertos Celebration

Join us in celebrating Día de los Muertos by watching Disney’s Coco ! We will have a Halloween costume contest and plenty of activities for students and families!

*Optional event. Open to students, mentors, and public

HLC
Mon, Nov. 30, 12pm
HLC1 2212

Tues, Dec. 1, 10:30am
HLC1 2210

Tues, Dec. 1, 12pm
HLC1 2211

HYS
Tues, Dec. 1, 9am
HYS 1314

Wed, Dec. 2, 10:30am
HYS 1203

Wed, Dec. 2, 12pm
HYS 1203

RVS
Thur, Dec. 3, 12pm
RVSA 2221

Thur, Dec. 3, 9am
RVSG 9116

Mon, Dec. 7, 1:30pm
RVSG 9113

SAC
Mon, Dec. 7, 1:30pm
SAC 1137

Tues, Dec. 8, 12pm
SAC 1205

Posada Celebration

During their EDUC 1300 class, students will reflect on their best achievements and will plan on how to improve and make adjustments for the Spring Semester. Students will enjoy holiday treats and exchange gifts. We will also have prizes for the winner of the “Ugliest Christmas Sweater Contest.”

*Mandatory event for all