Disciplinary Sanctions under the Student Standards of Conduct

The general disciplinary procedures for student violations of the student standards of conduct are outlined in Section 4 of the Student Standards of Conduct and Disciplinary Process in the ACC Student Handbook. In cases of student violations of the Drug and Alcohol Free Campus policy, the deans of student services have the authority to issue sanction(s) including, but not limited to, the following:

  • Written reprimand
  • Community service
  • Loss of privileges/access
  • Removal from a course
  • Conditions placed on future enrollment
  • Medical or psychological evaluation and follow-up
  • Restitution to the college
  • Disciplinary probation
  • Disciplinary suspension
  • Expulsion
  • Denial or revocation of degree

In addition to these academic sanctions, certain violations of the student standards of conduct may require referral for criminal and legal prosecution. These sanctions are described in the next section.

Legal Sanctions under Federal Law for the Unlawful Possession or Distribution of Controlled Substances

PENALTIES UNDER FEDERAL LAW
OFFENSEMINIMUM PUNISHMENTMAXIMUM PUNISHMENT
Manufacture, distribution, or dispensing drugs (including marijuana) A term of imprisonment up to 5 years and a minimum fine of $250,000 A term of life imprisonment without release (no eligibility for parole) and a fine not to exceed $8,000,000 (for an individual) or $20,000,000 if other than an individual)
Possession of drugs (including marijuana) A term of imprisonment up to 1 year and a minimum fine of $1,000 A term of imprisonment up to 20 years and a minimum fine of $5,000 plus costs of investigation and prosecution

Additionally, federal penalties and sanctions for illegal possession of a controlled substance can include:

  • Forfeiture of personal and real property used to possess or to facilitate possession of a controlled substance if that offense is punishable by more than 1-year imprisonment.
  • Forfeiture of vehicles, boats, aircraft or any other conveyance used to transport or conceal a controlled substance.
  • Civil fine of up to $10,000.
  • Denial of federal benefits such as student loans, grants, contracts, and professional and commercial licenses, up to 1 year for first offense, up to 5 years for second and subsequent offenses.
  • Ineligible to receive or purchase a firearm.
  • Revocation of certain Federal licenses and benefits, e.g. pilot's licenses, public housing tenancy, etc., are vested within the authorities of individual Federal agencies.

Legal Sanctions under State Law for the Unlawful Possession or Distribution of Controlled Substances

Provided is a list of the core legal sanctions imposed by the State of Texas. This list is not intended to be a complete list of offenses and penalties. Instead, it summarizes the severe penalties that flow from drug and alcohol abuse.

PENALTIES UNDER TEXAS LAW
OFFENSEMINIMUM PUNISHMENTMAXIMUM PUNISHMENT
Manufacture or delivery of controlled substances (drugs) Confinement in the Texas Department of Corrections (TDC) for a term of not more than 10 years or less than 2 years, or confinement in a community correctional facility for not more than 1 year, and a fine not to exceed $10,000 Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 15 years, and a fine not to exceed $100,000
Possession of controlled substances (drugs) Confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $1,000 Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $100,000
Delivery of Marijuana Confinement in jail for a term of not more than 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 10 years, and a fine not to exceed $100,000
Possession of Marijuana Confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days, and a fine not to exceed $2,000 or both Confinement in TDC for life or for a term of not more than 99 years or less than 5 years, and a fine not to exceed $50,000
Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol FIRST OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 20 to 40 hours community service related to education about or prevention of misuse of alcohol; 60 or 120 day suspension of driver's license.

SECOND OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500. 40 to 60 hours community service related to education about or prevention of misuse of alcohol; 120 or 240 day suspension of driver's license.
THIRD OFFENSE: Fine not less than $500 or more than $2,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 180 days or both the fine and the confinement; 180-day or 1 year suspension of driver's license.

An offense under this section is not a lesser included offense under Section 49.04, Penal Code. (DWI).
Public Intoxication   A fine not to exceed $500
Purchase of alcohol by a minor Fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $500 Varies with age and number of offenses
Consumption of alcohol by a minor Fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $500.00 Varies with number of offenses
Possession of alcohol by a minor FIRST OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 8 to 12 hours of community service; 30-day suspension of driver's license.

SECOND OFFENSE: Maximum fine of $500; 40 to 60 hours of community service; 60-day suspension of driver's license.
THIRD OFFENSE: Fine not less than $250 or more than $2,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 180 days or both fine and confinement; 180-day suspension or driver's license.
Furnishing alcohol to a minor Fine not to exceed $2,000; confinement in jail for term not to exceed 180 days; or both such fine and confinement.