ACC voters elect new trustee to Place 8 in run-off

Stephanie Gharakhanian won the December 11 run-off election for Place 8 on the Austin Community College District (ACC) Board of Trustees.

"I am excited and ready to get to work,” says Gharakhanian. “I decided to run for this position because I believe that ACC is an important force for equity in our region. I am eager to work with the other Trustees to make sure that affordable, quality higher education and workforce training is within reach of every person in our community."

Gharakhanian is a first-generation American, an attorney, and a community organizer. Most recently, she worked with the Workers Defense Project.

Here are the complete unofficial results:

Place 8
Gharakhanian — 19,347 votes
Sarah Mills — 11,528 votes 

Gharakhanian joins the board’s other re-elected trustees, Dr. Barbara P. Mink for Place 7 and Julie Ann Nitsch for Place 9, who each secured their seats in November’s general election and were sworn into office at December’s general board meeting. Gharakhanian will take office in the January board meeting.

ACC Trustees serve six-year terms and are elected at-large by registered voters who live within the ACC District, which includes the City of Austin as well as the Austin, Leander, Manor, Del Valle, Round Rock, Elgin, and Hays school districts.

Comprehensive runoff results are available on the ACC Elections website. Individual county results are available through county election websites.

Add new comment