ACC named top Fulbright U.S. Scholars college

2011-2012 Fulbright Scholar Elizabeth Pintar

Austin Community College (ACC) has been named a top producer of Fulbright Scholars for 2018-2019 by The Chronicle of Higher Education. ACC is the only community college in Texas to be awarded this designation.

"A Fulbright Scholar Grant is a wonderful opportunity for ACC faculty to learn about a new country and culture, enhance their professional development, and share their community college experience with faculty, staff, and administrators at their host institution," said William Hayden, ACC International Programs director and Fulbright Scholar liaison. "We're proud to be named a Fulbright top-producing institution once again."

ACC was previously named a Fulbright Top Producing institution in 2015-2016 when it had two grant awardees.

The following ACC faculty members have been awarded Fulbright grants to conduct projects abroad:

  • Dr. Kathryn Frost, Psychology associate professor, Romania, 2004-2005
  • Dr. Shannon Bailey, ESOL department chair, Vietnam, 2008-2009
  • Dr. Elizabeth Pintar, Anthropology chair and Archeology professor, Argentina, 2011-2012
  • Dr. Samuel Echevarria-Cruz, Social Sciences dean and Sociology professor, Romania, 2015-2016
  • Jill Brockmann, former Business professor, Denmark, 2015-2016
  • Dr. Blanca Alvarado, Sociology professor, Costa Rica, 2018-2019

Most recently, Dr. Heather Barfield, Drama adjunct professor, was awarded a 2019-2020 U.S. Scholar Fulbright grant for arts-based research in France. Barfield will work in collaboration with Syrian performer Nawar Bulbul. The project will culminate in a community-based performance titled "Performing Migrant Stories."

"Ever since my undergraduate studies, I have longed to receive a Fulbright grant for research and international exchange," says Barfield. "This award offers me a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that will, hopefully, be of benefit not only to my host community in France and Aix-Marseille Université but to Austin Community College through future teaching and service to the community."

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government's flagship international educational exchange program. Grants are awarded annually and fund research or teaching abroad for up to one year.

"We thank the colleges and universities across the United States that we are recognizing as Fulbright top-producing institutions for their role in increasing mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries," said Marie Royce, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs. "We are proud of all the Fulbright students and scholars from these institutions who represent America abroad, increasing and sharing their skills and knowledge on a global stage."

If you, or another faculty member you know, were recognized as a Fulbright Scholar at another institution, please contact the Office of Communications & Marketing at and Hayden at 512-223-7114 or email

Add new comment