ACC Board of Trustees welcomes in new trustee

The Austin Community College District (ACC) welcomed its newly elected trustee and recognized its outgoing board member during the board’s general meeting Monday, December 7.

The Honorable Judge Clifford Brown held the honor of swearing in new Trustee Dana Walker and reelected trustees Dr. Nan McRaven and Gigi Edwards Bryant in a small ceremony at Highland Business Center. All present practiced safe social distancing measures. 

Dana WalkerWalker ran unopposed for Place 1. She currently works at Facebook, where she leads a risk assessment team supporting the company's Oversight Board, a review body that ensures respect for free expression.  Her previous experience includes management consulting in financial services and for multiple U.S. federal government agencies, as well as roles in fashion and aviation.  She has a master’s in public policy from the National University of Singapore and a B.A. in international relations from Lehigh University.

“ACC is at the intersection of opportunity creation and community development,” says Walker. “I am honored to serve the district and look forward to working with my fellow Trustees to make ACC even better at empowering student success.”

Walker assumes the seat following Mark Williams who served on the board for six years.ACC Chancellor Dr. Richard Rhodes presented Williams with a certificate of appreciation.

“ACC is such a community asset,” says Williams. “There are a lot of opportunities ahead, and I don’t think this college could be in better hands than the team it has in place. I want to thank all the voters for giving me this opportunity six years ago. Now, I’m going to depart and be a fan and a supporter of this great institution.”

Trustees also elected new board officers for 2021. Dr. Nan McRaven will lead the board as chair. Dr. Nora deHoyos Comstock will serve as vice-chair, and Nicole Eversmann will serve as Board secretary. 

ACC Board members serve staggered six-year terms and are elected at large by registered voters who live within the ACC District which includes the City of Austin as well as the Austin, Leander, Manor, Del Valle, Round Rock, Elgin, and Hays school districts.

For more information and to view a video of the proceedings, visit