ACC Trustees approve election results and order Place 8 runoff

Austin Community College’s Board of Trustees approved results of the November 6 general election and called for a runoff for Place 8 during a special meeting Monday, November 19.

According to the official election results, incumbent trustees Dr. Barbara P. Mink, Place 7, and Julie Ann Nitsch, Place 9, were re-elected to their offices. The remaining Place 8 seat will be determined in a runoff election December 11.

Mink was first elected to the ACC Board of Trustees in 2000, and was re-elected in 2006 and 2012. Most recently, she has served as chair of the board since 2017. 

“I am excited and humbled to be able to serve ACC for another term on the board,” says Mink. “ACC has such a vital role in advancing economic equity and social justice in Central Texas. Our dedicated, competent, and caring faculty and staff provide high quality instruction and services to so many. We have a great college and together we can work to make it even better.”  

Nitsch, a former ACC student and employee, was first elected to the board in December 2016 in a runoff election.

“I am honored to be re-elected to continue my work here at ACC, and excited to see what we, as a community and a college, will accomplish,” says Nitsch.

Candidates Stephanie Gharakhanian and Sarah Mills will face off in the December 11 runoff for Place 8. Neither candidate secured the 50 percent plus one vote required to win.

Gharakhanian is a first-generation American, an attorney, and a community organizer. Most recently, she worked with the Workers Defense Project. Mills is director of government relations and regulatory affairs for the Texas Association for Home Care and Hospice and a former chairwoman of the nonprofit Austin Tenants Council.

The winner of the runoff will take office in January.

Trustees serve six-year terms and are elected at-large by registered voters who live within the ACC District, which includes the City of Austin as well as the Austin, Leander, Manor, Del Valle, Round Rock, Elgin, and Hays school districts. 

Comprehensive runoff results will be available on the ACC Elections webpage. Individual county results will be available through county election websites.

Add new comment